Skip to content

Con Obama, terminan las convenciones y comienza la campaña del 2012

8 September, 2012

No había puesto nada sobre el discurso de Obama de ayer, que generó más de 50 mil tuits por minuto (4.2 millones por el discurso en total) y fue vista por poco más de 30 millones de televidentes, sin contar otros miles que lo vieron por Internet.

A parte, generó excelentes cabeceras en los periódicos principales de los estados más competitivos de la elección (1).

Pero no había puesto nada porque no sabía cómo explicar el hecho de que quedé más satisfecho con el discurso de Obama, que otros (2).

Éste correo (3) que recibió Andrew Sullivan de un lector, dice algo muy cercano a cómo es que me siento, y luego pongo más sobre mis opiniones:

You know, I’ve been scratching my head this morning about the pundits’luke-warm (at best) response to Obama’s speech, and trying to figure out why I felt so differently last night.  I agree it was a more cautious speech than he’s given in the past, more sober, more plain – but I thought all of that was appropriate.  I felt like he was being square with me.  But more than that, I felt not so much hopeful as proud.  I’m a liberal, and mostly a cynic about politics and patriotism – but last night, I felt proud!  I feel like what Obama accomplished last night was to co-opt all the best values and aspirations of the formerly moderate Republican party – hard work, self-reliance, frugality, the notion that change is best when it is slow and steady – and stitch them seamlessly into everything that is good about the values of the Democratic party – inclusiveness, shared sacrifice, community, generosity, fearless forward thinking.  And it seems to me that’s quite an accomplishment.

No está sirviendo la función de hacer hipertextos ahorita, así que sólo pondré referencias:

1- http://www.buzzfeed.com/andrewkaczynski/obamas-message-breaks-through-in-swing-state-news

2-http://andrewsullivan.thedailybeast.com/2012/09/obamas-speech-blog-reax-ii.html

3-http://andrewsullivan.thedailybeast.com/2012/09/email-of-the-day.html

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

